Skip to main content

What does a wedding photographer actually cost?

Published cost figures, each with its source and publication year named, and a plain answer where none covers your market.

What two national sources publish for a photographer

  • The Knot

    $1,500 to $4,700

    Quartile band, median $2,800

    Collected 2025 · published 2026 · n=10,474

  • Zola

    $3,500 to $5,300

    Typical range

    Collection year not disclosed · published 2026 · sample size not disclosed

The Knot’s median of $2,800 sits below the $3,500 floor of Zola’s typical range. Both records, with their sources

Lookups run by state. Enter a metro and the state it maps to is named with your result.

Optional. Leave it blank if you have no quote yet.

Create a free account

Pick a vendor type and a market. Where a published source covers it, you get the spread with the source named, the year it was published, and how it was gathered, and your quote placed inside it. Where none does, you are told so plainly. No verdict, no scolding, just the position.

Two published sources, never averaged into one

Specimen record · Photographer · National

National, because it is the only level at which both publishers report this vendor type. No state mapping is applied here; enter a market above for your own.

Publisher · published spread

These publishers do not report the same measure. A quartile band and a typical range are different statistics, and neither is a version of the other, so they are not drawn against each other. Read each record’s figures as its publisher reports them.

The Knot

Quartile band · 2026
Lower
$1,500
Median
$2,800
Upper
$4,700
Survey
The Knot Real Weddings Study
Years
Collected 2025Published 2026
Sample
n=10,474
Basis
US couples married in 2025, recruited from The Knot and WeddingWire membership. National, all categories; not photographer-specific.
Publisher
The Knot operates a vendor marketplace and recruits respondents from its own membership.

Zola

Typical range · 2026
Lower
$3,500
Upper
$5,300
Survey
Zola Wedding Cost Index
Years
Collection year not disclosed by the publisherPublished 2026
Sample
Sample size not disclosed by the publisher
Basis
Platform data: real couple budgets, spending recorded in Zola's budget tool, and pricing reported by Zola vendors. National, all categories; not photographer-specific.
Publisher
Zola operates a vendor marketplace, and this index is built from its own platform's couple budgets and vendor pricing.

The number is not the whole of it

These are the lines a photographer quote is built from, sorted by whether each one sits inside the number you are shown or arrives after it.

Anatomy of a photographer quote

No survey prices these lines

Line itemPublished cost
Inside the number you are shown
CoverageNo sourced figure
Edited imagesNo sourced figure
Delivery timelineNo sourced figure
Deposit and payment scheduleNo sourced figure
Arrives after the number you were quoted
OvertimeNo sourced figure
Second shooterNo sourced figure
Travel and mileageNo sourced figure
Albums and printsNo sourced figure
Unedited filesNo sourced figure

What an account opens

Every dash above is a figure nobody has published: the cost surveys price a vendor, not the lines inside its quote. A free account opens the full breakdown — what each package tier includes and which lines move when you ask — and it opens no figure, because there is none to open.

Create a free account

Every figure carries its source

Every range names the published source behind it, its publication year, and its sample basis.

Named source
No source name, no figure. There is no third option.
Publication year
Shown beside the figure, with the collection year wherever the publisher gives one.
Sample basis
Who was asked and how, with the sample size wherever the publisher gives one, so you can weigh it.

Who pays for this

You are the customer here

Almost every page that answers the cost question is vendor marketing paid for by vendors. That does not make the figures wrong. It means nobody publishing them is sitting on your side of the table.

  • Photographer pricing is quoted privately, so there is nothing to compare it against
  • The prices you can find are a vendor's own, not a survey of what couples paid
  • The number in the quote is often not the number you end up paying

Siftwick takes no money from vendors. No listings, no referral fees, no placement money, no lead-gen. Nobody can pay to move a range, sit beside one, or keep one off the page.

Which leaves exactly one side of the table Siftwick can answer to, and it is yours. Today that asks an email address of you and nothing else.

Look it up before the next call.

Worth knowing before your next vendor call, not after it.